Monday, January 30, 2017

How Were the "Muslim Ban" Countries Selected?

The answer is simple; Obama did it.

President Trump has come under fire for making good on a campaign promise and signing an executive order temporarily halting immigration or re-entries from several Middle Eastern countries where ISIS is known to operate, or that are known to be state sponsors of terrorism. Those countries include Iran, Iraq, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Sudan, and Libya.

Earlier this week, left-wing outlets reported the restricted nations do not include those in which the Trump organization has ties, implying that countries like Saudi Arabia were omitted due to their business dealings with Trump.

There's just one problem with this line of reasoning: the Trump Administration did not choose which countries would be restricted.

As a matter of fact, if you read the executive order, the only nation mentioned by name is Syria. All nations affected by the executive order are referred to as "countries of concern", a list of six nations named in a 2016 law signed by President Obama concerning immigration Visas.

The Department of Homeland Security listed those nations in a press release in February of 2016:

The Department of Homeland Security today announced that it is continuing its implementation of the Visa Waiver Program Improvement and Terrorist Travel Prevention Act of 2015 with the addition of Libya, Somalia, and Yemen as three countries of concern, limiting Visa Waiver Program travel for certain individuals who have traveled to these countries.

Last month, the United States began implementing changes under the Act. The three additional countries designated today join Iran, Iraq, Sudan and Syria as countries subject to restrictions for Visa Waiver Program travel for certain individuals.

So, did Donald Trump somehow influence the Department of Homeland Security to not include nations he did business with from the list...before he was even president?

Of course not. This was just another left-wing smear. The left was silent when President Obama banned Iraqi refugees for six months in 2011 due to concerns that the program was being used by terrorists to infiltrate the United States

It's also worth noting that there is no "Muslim ban", despite left-wing efforts to frame it as such.

The words "Muslim" or "Islamic" do not appear once in the executive order signed by President Trump. The order restricts entry from specific nations, and not on the basis of faith. This has been done by multiple presidents in the past, including Jimmy Carter in 1980, who invalidated the Visas of Iranians during the Iran Hostage Crisis.

Found at Hannity .com

1 comment:

  1. Crappiest Muslim Ban Ever... Given that nearly 90% of the world's Muslims are unaffected by the recent 120-day pause on refugees from 7 out of 53 Islamic countries, calling it a "Muslim ban" is quite a stretch.

    And while it's true that refugees from those seven
    countries have not yet killed citizens in the United States,

    Americans have been gunned down and blown up in

    Tortured and murdered in Iraq,

    Burned in Libya,

    Jailed for their faith in Iran,

    Assassinated in the Sudan,

    Raped and beheaded in Syria,

    And stoned to death in Somalia...

    all in the name of Islam!